In addition to our Electronic Databases, to which the library subscribes for you, there are a variety of research guides and materials which are available on the Internet to assist students with curriculum assignments and basic reference work. These sites are considered by librarians to be from reputable and sometimes scholarly sources.

 

Descriptions of some sites have been taken directly from the pages of those sites and are not the work of this web author.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




ART

Artchive
Art theory and criticism, reviews, and verbal and visual essays on art and artists.

Artcyclopedia
Browse artists alphabetically or by movement, medium, nationality, or subject. Includes a glossary of terms and a museum search.

Art History Resources on the Web
A well-structured list of art historical resources with a broad geographic scope and coverage of all periods from prehistory to the twentieth century.

AskArt
Allows one to search for American artists, known and obscure, on the Internet. Includes images, biographical information, a bibliography, and more.

Beazley Archive
Material relating to the study of classical archaeology and art. More than 5000 images, an illustrated dictionary, bibliographies for classical archaeology, and illustrated programs about pottery, sculpture, and engraved gems. Extensive, searchable pottery database.

Digital Gallery
The New York Public Library's collection of prints, maps, posters, photographs, illuminated manuscripts, sheet-music covers and dust jackets (and more).

Eighteenth-Century Art Resources
A selective list of links on art, architecture and landscape gardening in the eighteenth century.

Tigertail
Virtual art museum.

WebMuseum
A large image collection comprised chiefly of Western art, indexed thematically and by artist. There is also a section on Japanese art and architecture.

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

EDUCATION

Education Week
Includes Education Week, Teacher Magazine, hot topics, and archives.

Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM)
A consortium effort to provide one-stop access to the substantial, but uncataloged, collections of Internet-based educational materials available on various federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial Internet sites. This website is a project of the U.S. Department of Education.

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



GENERAL

ABC News
Find the latest news and search for past reports.

Ask A Librarian
An online reference service from the Library of Congress. Includes links to the Library of Congress web site and online catalog.
This site also offers the opportunity to chat live with a librarian.

CNN.com
Find the latest news and search for past reports.

Cost of Living Calculator

Dictionaries
Link to a multitude of dictionaries, including thesauri, foreign language dictionaries and translators, and grammar guides.

Find Articles.com
Search published articles back to 1998.

Front Pages of Newspapers
264 front pages from 37 countries presented alphabetically with links to each newspapers website.

Librarian's Index to the Internet
Provides a well-organized point of access for reliable, trustworthy, librarian-selected Internet resources.

Library of Congress Webcasts
Over the past six years, the Library of Congress has documented several hundred of the talks, discussions, and conferences that have taken place under its leadership. On this site, visitors have access to all 303 of these talks in their entirety, along with webcasts from the National Book Festival.

Newsweek
Access articles back to 1993. You will be asked for an e-mail and password. Use pamela_starobin@horacemann.org as the e-mail address and horace as the password.

Teen Advice Online
A volunteer driven site operated by teens and young adults from around the world.

Time Magazine Archives
Access articles back to 1923.

The Wayback Machine
Over 100 terabytes and 10 billion web pages archived from 1996 to the present.

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Government Documents

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Primary documents pertaining the the study of American history. Documents span the fifteenth to the twentieth centuries.

American Factfinder
Population, housing, economic and geographic data.

Cyber-Cemetery
Provides permanent public access to the electronic Web sites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions.

FedStats
The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.

First Gov
Gateway site with links to historical documents, federal and state laws and regulations, statistics, libraries, national atlases and maps, press releases, publications, and other databases.

GPO Access
Free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction

National Archives and Records Administration
An independent federal agency that manages all federal records, including the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution of the United States, and the Bill of Rights. "This site ensures continuing access to essential evidence that documents the rights of American citizens, the actions of federal officials, and the national experience."

National Security Archive
A library and archive of declassified U.S. documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.

State Department Background Notes
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.

State Department Freedom of Information Act Homepage
Links to State Department records and information access programs.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States.The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.

U.S. Census Bureau
Maps, gazetteer files, and the American Community Survey, as well as statistics on income, poverty, housing, demographics, genealogy, and economics.

World Factbook (CIA)
Maps as well as information about a country's geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Includes flags of the world.

 

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


HISTORY / ANTHROPOLOGY

Access Middle East This cutting-edge site provides breaking news about the Middle East, linking users to a wide variety of journalistic sources for information as well as offering background information on major regional issues.

African Empires 6th grade African Empires project. Links to websites.

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Primary documents pertaining the the study of American history. Documents span the fifteenth to the twentieth centuries.

Arab Culture and Civilization
This site focuses primarily on the culture and civilization, as opposed to the political arenas, of the Arab world. Divisions include history, ethnicity and identity, Islam, Arab Americans, literature and philosophy, family and society, art and architecture, the Arabic language, and geography.

The Avalon Project at Yale
Primary documents relevant to law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government from pre-18th to the 21st century. Includes text comparisons of some documents. Also links to Project DIANA: An Online Human Rights Archive.

Current Value of Old Money
Includes calculator for comparing the purchasing power of money in the United States (or colonies) from 1720 to any other year including the present, the cost of living in London in the mid 1700's to the 1900's and many more links.

Depression Years

Documenting the American South
Primary source materials documenting the cultural history of the American South from the
collections of the University of North Carolina. It features diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles on slavery, and regional literature.

Encyclopedia of British History
Shows the history of Britain through first person narratives, illustrations and photographs. Includes primary
sources and bibliography.

Founders' Constitution
Complete copies of the United States Constitution and the Bill of Rights together with commentaries and criticisms.

History Link 101
A resource site for the cultures/time periods of Prehistory, Africa, China, Egypt, Greece, Aztec, Mayan, Olmec, Native Americans, Mesopotamia, Middle Ages and World War II. It is divided into six categories, art, biographies, daily life, maps, pictures and research for each culture or time period.

History of Women's Suffrage
On overview of the movement is presented here through biographies of important suffragists. Includes timelines from 1792 to present.

Horace Mann Model UN

In the First Person
In-depth indexing of more than 2,500 collections of oral history in English from around the world.

Italian Renaissance Links

Joint Stock Project

Lewis and Clark Bicentennial
More than 30 federal government organizations have partnered to create this portal to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the Lewis and Clark Expedition.

Library of Congress American Memory Project
Primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Includes Art and Architecture, Business and Economics, Geography, Philosophy and Religion, and Social Sciences and Technology.

Library of Congress Country Studies
A description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world published between 1988 and 1998.

Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology, containing approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles

MD Model UN

Medieval Research

Model UN Research

Nations of the World
Part of the Law Library of Congress's Global Legal Information Network, this site provides links to information on all the countries' consitutions as well as their legislative, executive and judicial bodies.

Our Documents
100 milestone documents of American history

Purchasing Power of Money
In the United States from 1774 to 2006

African Empires

Time Magazine Archives
Access articles back to 1923.

United States Historical Census Data Browser
This site describes the people and the economy of the U.S. for each state and county from 1790 to 1960. Includes history and development of the census from it's inception.

United Nations

The Vietnam Project
A site devoted to promoting the study of American's involvement in Southeast Aia before, during, and after the conflict and to finding, collecting, preserving and providing access to the historical materials that allow that study.

Virtual Jamestown
A unique combination of archival research and cutting-edge technology. Focusing on the legacies it helped to foster, such as slavery and indentured servitude.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000

The World of World's Fairs
For the Memorable Events project, information about the New York World's Fair.

World War I

Yearbook of Immigration Statistics

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


LAW

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Primary documents pertaining the the study of American history. Documents span the fifteenth to the twentieth centuries.

Find Law
A guide to Supreme Court decisions, the Constitution, federal and state laws, cases and codes, legal subjects, and foreign and international legal resources.

Thomas

A comprehensive guide to Congressional bills, including a history of the legislature. Information on measures expected to be considered on the House floor this week, search of text of bills, bill summary and status, public laws, house and senate roll call votes, Congressional records, and committee reports.

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



LITERATURE/ENGLISH/POETRY

Bartelby.com: Great Books Online
The classics of literature, nonfiction, and reference, all full text and free of charge.

The English Server
44 collections covering such topics as race, multimedia, accessible publishing, and current political and social issues. An alternative publishing site for written works, hypertext, audio, and video.

Harlem Renaissance
Links to Harlem Renaissance resources.

Internet Public Library Criticism Collection
Contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, title, or nationality and literary period.

Literary Resources on the Net
A collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature, excluding most single electronic texts. Limited to collections of information useful to academics.

Victorian Web
Political and social history, gender, religion, and science as it relates to the Victorians in literature, art, and theater.


Voice of the Shuttle
Links to humanities and humanities-related resources on the Internet. Attempts to bridge the humanities as they interact with the sciences, social sciences, and new digital media (i.e., Sci-Tech, Cyberculture and Technology of Writing).

Words Without Borders
A free online magazine with the goal of increasing understanding of other cultures through the English translations of foreign literature and commentary. Search by continents or environments.

 

Back

 

 

 

POETRY (Several of these sites offer audio. The library office has headphones available for your listening pleasure.)

Academy of American Poets
A link to full text poems, information about poets, poetry events, discussion forums, and audio versions of poets reading their poems.

The American Museum of Beat Art
An archive and collection of works and artifacts pertaining to the Beat Generation, it's writers, poets, artists and their offspring.

The American Verse Project
The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. The full text of each volume of poetry is being converted into digital form and can be searched by author, title, single word and phrase searches, co-occurrence of two or three
words or phrases, combinations of two or three words in a given paragraph or verse or through lists of all unique words in the texts.

Bartelby.com:Poetry
Thousands of poems by hundreds of authors spanning six centuries of English-language poetry.

Civil War Poetry
Poetry that poignantly describes the experiences of battle, patriotism, and emotions of both sides.

Favorite Poem Project
Created by Robert Pinsky as his poet laureate special project. This site features ordinary people reciting the poems they love. Includes 50 Favorite Poem Videos.

Fooling with Words with Bill Moyers
1998 Dodge Poetry Festival.

International Poetry

Literary Kicks: The Beat Generation
The site is devoted to a few experimental literary movements that tried to uncover some deeper truths about life.

Poems of Grief and Consolation
Contemporary poetry dealing with the September 11th tragedy.

Poet's Corner
Best known classics to obscure ballads in Middle English. Search by author, title, first line or subject.

Poetry 180
Created by current Poet Laureate Billy Collins. This site provides the texts of 180 poems by contemporary American poets, one for each day of the school year. Guidance on how to read poetry aloud.

Poetry Daily
An anthology of contemporary poetry which each day brings a new poem from books, magazines and journals currently in print. Also includes an archive to past poets, journals, and interviews.

Poetry Out Loud
Poets perform their own work "out loud", including a remarkable, rare recording of Lord Tehhyson reciting The Charge of the Light Brigade.

Poetry Written by Teens
More than 2000 poems written by teens from around the world in a variety of forms and styles. Students can join the forum and comment on the work of their peers.

United States of Poetry
From the PBS series.

Back


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MAPS

David Rumsey Historical Maps
Rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials.

Gateway to Maps
Links to an extremely large amount of map collections, just in case the following sites aren't enough.

Library of Congress American Memory Maps
Map collections from 1500 to 2002. Sorted by cities and towns, cultural landscapes, military battles, conservation and environment, transportation and communication, discovery and exploration, and general maps.

Online Map Catalogues
Over 20,000 cartographic links.

Perry Castaneda Map Collection
A portion of the printed map collection at the University of Texas has been scanned and made available on the Web. Currently, this amounts to about 5,000 map images.

U.S. Census Bureau
Maps, gazetteer files, and the American Community Survey, as well as statistics on income, poverty, housing, demographics, genealogy, and economics.

World Factbook (CIA)
Maps as well as information about a country's geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Includes flags of the world.

World Maps
Infinity and beyond! Links to maps of the continents, the earth, and the universe, including astronomy and satellite photos.

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MATHEMATICS

Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics
An interactive mathematics encyclopedia with mathematical exposition and illustrative examples.

Famous Problems in the History of Mathematics
Exactly what the title says!

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
Biographies of mathematicians, mathematics in various cultures, math history, special topics, and a famous curves index.

Math Forum
Math resources by grade and topic, ask Dr. Math, links to math discussion groups, and problems of the week.

PlanetMath
An online mathematics community of knowledge and learning with an emphasis on collaborative creation of content. The main feature is the mathematics encyclopedia with entries written and reviewed by members.

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MUSIC

An American Ballroom Companion: Dance Instruction Manuals, 1490-1920
A collection of over two hundred social dance manuals housed at the Library of Congress, as
well as a number of antidance manuals, histories, and treatises on etiquette. 75 video clips
demonstrate steps from selected manuals.

Aria Database
The Aria Database is a searchable reference guide to arias by name, opera, language, and
voice type, including word-by-word translations into English, libretti, and MIDI files for many
of the arias. The database includes the complete set of operatic arias of Verdi, Mozart, and
Puccini, as well as many others.

DW3: Classical Music Resources
Includes links to composer homepages, chronologies, organizations, and electronic journals.

Jazz
An interactive website based on the PBS television series Jazz by Ken Burns. Includes audio clips,
biographies and historical notes.

The Leonard Bernstein Collection ca. 1920-1989
More than 400,000 items, including music and literary manuscripts, correspondence,
photographs, audio and video recordings, and fan mail.

Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1870-1885
Over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885.
Included are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental
music, method books and instructional materials, and music for orchestra and band.

Musicals 101.com
History of musicals, reviews, essays, and many photographs.

WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists
This is not a complete list of Internet music resources, but from here you can travel almost
everywhere. Includes links to academic job listings, dissertations, choirs, instruments,
women in music, and more. Very extensive.

Worldwide Internet Music Resources
One of the finest, most well-organized collections of music sites available. Created at Indiana University School of Music.

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

RELIGION/PHILOSOPHY

Ethics Update
Links to a wide array of resources in both ethical theory and applied ethics. Includes online classic texts in ethics and a link to
"Philosophers Speak Out about War, Terrorism, and Peace".

Fordham University Links to Religion Websites
Includes links to psychology of religion; Lives of the Saints; Jewish, Buddhist, Hindu, and Christian Internet resources; and searchable versions of the Bible, Koran, and Bhagvat Gita.

Religion, Religions, Religious Studies (University of Florida)
A gateway to a multiplicity of religious sites. Links to information about major and minor
religions, religious experiences, and contemplative sources.

Sacred Texts of Many Religions
From Bahai through Ethiopian to Zoroastrian texts.

Sikhism
Links include articles on its founding, the role of women, holidays, rituals and ceremonies and basic principles.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A work in progress. However, the contents currently available are very thorough.

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



SCIENCE
AND HEALTH

Access Excellence at The National Health Museum
Sites relating to bioscience, health, math, and careers in the sciences.

Alcohol and Drug Issues

Alcohol and the Adolescent Brain
Alcohol affects teens differently than it does adults. This is a good place to learn about adolescent brain development, as well as the impact of alcohol on this process.

The Cool Spot
Information on alcohol and peer pressure.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Information on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and related topics.

Drugs of Abuse
2005 edition of Drugs of Abuse. This DEA magazine delivers clear, scientific information about drugs in a factual, straightforward way, combined with scores of precise photographs shot to scale.

Freevibe
Links to advice and facts concerning illegal substance use, as well as teen-related news and suggestions on how to help someone in need.

Go Ask Alice
Columbia University's Health Center Q&A. This link goes directly to the alcohol and drug use Q&A.

Merck Manual of Medical Information
The second edition with every topic updated and new ones added.

American Society for Microbiology
Geared to a middle school audience. Information about microbes, experiments, news and careers.

Astronomy

Lunar and Planetary Observations
Records the motion of comets and asteroids, partial rotations of planets, the dance of Galilean satellites, both solar and lunar eclipses, and close-up views of the myriad shadows during sunrise over a moonscape.

The Originally Nine Then Ten but Now Maybe 8 Planets
An overview of the history, mythology, and current scientific knowledge of each of the planets and moons in our solar system.

Science@NASA
Science done through or at NASA, covering basic scientific principles, scientific methods, debates, and questions. Includes biology, chemistry, Earth Science, technology, astronomy and physics.

Planets - Science and Nature
Your travel guide to the solar system.

Solar System Exploration
Excellent visual representation of the planets and their moons in the solar system.

 

Eating Disorders

Center for Disease Control and Prevention

Dying to be Thin
Examines life threatening eating disorders and seeks to reveal the reasons patients are consumed by their obsession with weight.

Food and Nutrition Information Center/Eating Disorders

Teen Health and the Media

Eric Weisstein's World of Science
Contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics

Evolution
University of California Berkeley's Museum of Paleontology web site provides educators with lesson plans and other tools needed to teach natural selection, along with strategies for countering the misconceptions that often surround this controversial issue.

Evolution of Modern Humans
Walks users through history from Homo erectus of 600,000 years ago to the dawn of Homo sapiens 100,000 years ago. Covers both physical and cultural evolution.

Freevibe
Links to advice and facts concerning illegal substance use, as well as teen-related news and suggestions on how to help someone in need.

GMO Project
Links to web pages for the Genetically Modified Organisms project.

Health

Center for Disease Control and Prevention

Family Doctor.org
Written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals. Comprehensive coverage of medical topics relevant to teens.

Health Links
Links to the Social Issues page of the of Multnomah County Library. Excellent resource.

Merck Manual of Medical Information
The second edition with every topic updated and new ones added.

Sexulalityandu
An excellent site that answers many questions about STIs.

Health Links
Links to the Social Issues page of the of Multnomah County Library. Excellent resource.

How Things Work
"Think of this site as a radio call-in program that's being held on the WWW instead of the radio". Previously answered questions are searchable by keyword or topic. Topics are extensive and very specific.

Influenza
The 1918 influenza outbreak in the US killed more than half a million people.

Lunar and Planetary Observations
Records the motion of comets and asteroids, partial rotations of planets, the dance of Galilean satellites, both solar and lunar eclipses, and close-up views of the myriad shadows during sunrise over a moonscape.

MadSciNet
Scientists provide answers to your questions, or you can search their archive of previously asked questions, link to their science library, or search the Internet.

Merck Manual of Medical Information
The second edition with every topic updated and new ones added.

Microbial Literacy Collaborative
Microbial facts, images and information on MLC initiatives.

National Science Digital Library
A comprehensive source for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education. Funded by the National Science Foundation.

The (Nine) Now Ten Planets
An overview of the history, mythology, and current scientific knowledge of each of the planets and moons in our solar system.

Population Reference Bureau
The Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations.

Rainforest Resources click here for links to rainforest web pages.

Rites of Passage links to the Rites of Passage topics.

Science@NASA
Science done through or at NASA, covering basic scientific principles, scientific methods, debates, and questions. Includes biology, chemistry, Earth Science, technology, astronomy and physics.

Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.

Science Watch
Tracks trends and performance in basic science research.

Scientific American: Ask the Experts
Users are invited to e-mail questions and the "most interesting" are answered by scientists and other experts. An archive of previous questions and answers is arranged by broad scientific discipline. Some answers link to related web sites.

Sexulalityandu
An excellent site that answers many questions about STIs.

The Shape of Life
The evolutionary development and history of animal life on earth through the breakthroughs of scientific discovery.

Social Issues Online
Arguments supporting both sides of controversial subjects. Topics include cloning, abortion, genetic testing, and more

Planets - Science and Nature
Your travel guide to the solar system.

Teen Advice Online
A volunteer driven site operated by teens and young adults from around the world.

World Maps
Infinity and beyond! Links to maps of the continents, the earth, and the universe, including astronomy and satellite photos.


Back